Comparison · As of November 2026 · Published by Vesana, one of the compared tools

Monitoring software compared

10 tools, 10 criteria. Each fact links to the vendor’s own page. Choose up to 4 tools.

Narrow down
Criterion Vesana Vesana Self-hosted, multi-tenant monitoring with outbound-only agents and collectors. PRTG Paessler Sensor-based network monitoring on Windows or hosted by Paessler. Checkmk Checkmk GmbH Infrastructure monitoring with a free open-source edition and commercial editions. Zabbix Zabbix LLC Open-source monitoring at large scale, self-hosted or as Zabbix Cloud.
Getting it running
Server setup One command on Debian or Ubuntu Vesana docs: installation Windows setup program PRTG manual: install Package, then omd create and omd start Checkmk docs: setup Packages from the Zabbix repository, plus a database Zabbix docs: requirements
Remote networks Outbound only over HTTPS 443; no inbound ports, no VPN vesana.org/product Remote probe connects to the core on TCP 23560 PRTG manual: remote probes Server polls agents on TCP 6556; push mode in Ultimate Checkmk docs: agents Active proxy connects to the server on port 10051 Zabbix docs: proxies
Free to try ✓Up to 25 hosts, 1 tenant, no time limit vesana.org/pricing ✓Freeware: 100 sensors PRTG manual: licenses ✓Community edition checkmk.com/pricing ✓Free software zabbix.com/subscriptions
Cost
Public price €990/year for 150 hosts, incl. 12 months of updates vesana.org/pricing PRTG 500: $200/month, billed annually paessler.com/prtg/pricing Pro from €190/month, billed annually checkmk.com/pricing Cloud from $50/month zabbix.com/cloud
Billed by Hosts; checks and tenants not counted vesana.org/pricing Sensors paessler.com/prtg/pricing Monitored services checkmk.com/pricing Free software; paid support, Cloud by capacity zabbix.com/subscriptions
Customers and access
Multi-tenancy ✓Built in; unlimited tenants in paid plans vesana.org/pricing ~MSP Edition listed; details not stated paessler.com/prtg ~Optional add-on for Checkmk Ultimate Checkmk blog: new lineup ~Via user groups and host group permissions Zabbix docs: permissions
MCP / AI ✓MCP server, AI account per person, audit log vesana.org/product —Not stated by the vendor paessler.com/prtg ✓MCP server, read-only (Pro and up) Checkmk: AI ✓Official MCP server zabbix.com/features
Platform
Hosting Self-hosted vesana.org/product Self-hosted or PRTG Hosted Monitor PRTG Hosted Monitor Self-hosted or Checkmk Cloud (SaaS) checkmk.com/pricing Self-hosted or Zabbix Cloud (SaaS) zabbix.com/cloud
Runs on Linux (Debian, Ubuntu) vesana.org/product Windows PRTG system requirements Linux (RHEL-based, SLES, Debian, Ubuntu) Checkmk docs: setup Linux and other Unix systems Zabbix docs: requirements
Open source ✕Commercial, perpetual license Vesana docs: license ✕Commercial license PRTG manual: licenses ✓Community edition is open source Checkmk docs: setup ✓AGPLv3 zabbix.com/license
Vendor highlights
Known for

✓ yes ~ partly ✕ no — not stated by the vendor

How this comparison is made